One week ago, I ran my second half marathon with the coolest, spunkiest 13 year-old girl I’ve gotten to know as a young adult. Picou is full of ideas and initiatives, and she’s a great runner as well. I’m so thankful that I connected with Youth Run NOLA and became a member of the special half marathon team. I will miss the Saturday morning runs through the park – they certainly were an energizing way to start off the weekend!

Youth Run Half Marathon TeamI believe my time was right around sub-2:00 (given necessary stops along the way). It was a beautiful Sunday morning run from downtown to Uptown along St. Charles, through the French Quarter, and up along Esplanade to City Park. I put my “COACH” bib on the back of my shirt, and as I breezed by some folks along the way, I heard, “Dang, she’s going fast. No wonder, she’s a coach.”

What I love about Youth Run NOLA is the sense of community and camaraderie you build with your fellow running buddies young and old. And of course, running is a great activity to engage. So cheers to mentorship, health and fitness, and just having fun!